COUNCIL

Wednesday, 26th November, 2014

Present:-The Mayor, Councillor Mrs Linda Hailstones – in the ChairCouncillorsMiss Walklate, Mrs Heames, Welsh, Mrs Johnson,
Mrs Burnett, Cooper, Becket, Mrs Beech, Matthews, Wemyss,
Wilkes, Mrs Williams, Williams, Fear, Hailstones, Eagles,
Kearon, Taylor.J, Waring, Loades, Holland, Bailey,
Miss Cooper, Jones, Miss Reddish, Robinson, Mrs Shenton,
Mrs Heesom, Sweeney, Tagg, Mrs Bates, White,
Miss Mancey, Mrs Burgess, Eastwood, Baker, Mrs Peers,
Plant, Stringer, Stubbs, Turner, Mrs Winfield, Rout, J Tagg,
Harper, Huckfield, Naylon, Northcott, Owen, Mrs Braithwaite,
Wallace and Woolley

1. APOLOGIES

Apologies were received from Cllr Mrs Hambleton, Cllr Hambleton, Cllr Proctor and Cllr Mrs Simpson.

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

There were no declarations of interest.

3. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN FOR THE BOROUGH OF NEWCASTLE-UNDER-LYME

A report was submitted in accordance with the Council's decision on 4 June 2014 to adopt the principle of appointing Honorary Aldermen the Mayor had called an Special Meeting of the Council to consider making such appointments.

Cllr Sweeney moved and Cllr Mrs Heames seconded:

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Elsie Ashley OBE JP be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for a period of 32 years including service as Mayor in 1993/94.

All Members voted in favour

Councillor Gill Williams moved and Councillor Stubbs seconded:

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Edward Boden be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of his duties as a member of the Borough Council for a period of 21 years, including as Council Leader for a period of 9 years and as Mayor in 2013/14.

All Members voted in favour.

Councillor Jones moved and Councillor Reddish seconded:

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Dylis Cornes JP be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of her duties as a member of the Borough Council for a period of 12 years.

All Members voted in favour.

Councillor John Williams moved and Councillor Stubbs seconded:

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 William Hughes be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of his duties as a member of the Borough Council for a period of 20 years including service as Mayor in 1986/87.

Two members abstained from voting and 54 voted in favour

Councillor Jones moved and Councillor Reddish seconded:

That in pursuance of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 Robin Studd be admitted as an Honorary Alderman of the Borough of Newcastle-under-Lyme in recognition of the eminent services to the people of the Borough through performance of his duties as a member of the Borough Council for a period of 19 years including as Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member for a period of 6 years.

All members voted in favour

Resolved:

That the following be appointed as Honorary Aldermen for the Borough of NewcasIte under Lyme:

Elsie Ashley OBE, JP Edward M Boden Dylis Cornes JP William Hughes Robin Studd

THE MAYOR, COUNCILLOR MRS LINDA HAILSTONES Chair